top of page
  • jeremyjcworship

Song Story: All I Want




Song Story: All I Want


Disclaimer: All I Want wasn’t written from a faith-filled, mountain-top, miracle witnessing experience. As positive as the song may sound, the fact is that it’s more of a heart’s cry of surrender that I, myself, am seeking to live by.


When I wrote the song at the start of 2020 in a season where I was facing tension and stress in multiple areas of my life. It was without doubt a highly pressurising and stressful situation. And in the midst of it all, I felt God was asking me to release a song. My first response was, “Seriously? I have no money, and with all these areas of my life in jeopardy… I am meant to write and release a song? (and spend many many hours on this endeavour instead of striving to improve my situation)”. It just didn’t make rational sense to me.


It was during one of my prayer times – I call it prayer, but it was really me flailing and wrestling with God over my current circumstances – that God asked me, “What do you want?” To which I of course replied the obvious – finances, direction, providence etc. But He pressed further, “Would all these satisfy you? What do you really want?” This made me dig deeper. At the end of the day, what am I ultimately seeking for that would satisfy and bring me to a place of peace.


At that point, it became clear to me, that in spite of my lack, and turmoil surrounding me, all I that really needed to pursue is God. The one who will provide, the one who would give me peace, the one who gives me purpose and direction.


And I came across this verse in the New Living Translation bible, Psalm 141:1-5:


I cry out to the LORD;

I plead for the LORD’s mercy.

2 I pour out my complaints before him

and tell him all my troubles.

3 When I am overwhelmed,

you alone know the way I should turn.

Wherever I go,

my enemies have set traps for me.

4 I look for someone to come and help me,

but no one gives me a passing thought!

No one will help me;

no one cares a bit what happens to me.

5 Then I pray to you, O LORD.

I say, “You are my place of refuge.

You are all I really want in life.


So this song became my prayer. It became a statement in my time of difficulty, and a declaration in the face of challenges. And as the first song publicly released, I pray it becomes the foundation of all that I do going forward too.


I pray that this song can become your prayer too. That whatever it is you’re needing, whatever it is you’re pursuing, first and foremost seek the One who gives it all. Because God is the only One that can truly satisfy.


Much love

JeremyJC Worship


P.S. As always, feel free to write to me and tell me your own stories. I would love to hear them.

16 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page